A Special Day During Each Lent

One of the worst things that can happen, when you are trying to accomplish a lot, is burn out.  I was burnt!  So I decided to take a day or two off. One of those days, today actually, is a special day; a day that changed my life forever.

Now remember, I was not a Christian until about 10 years ago.

When I was in high school, I made the decision that if I ever became pregnant I would not have an abortion unless I could die carrying a child.  So when I found myself pregnant at 19 years of age, it did not matter that the father was out of the picture. I was going to have a child.

I had cousins and an aunt and even a grandmother tell me to consider terminating my pregnancy. I had plenty of time for a family later, they would say. I just cried. But I did not change my mind. I was going through with it.

Then the day came. I was overdue and had to be induced. After eight hours of labor, I gave birth to a healthy, 8 lb 9 ½ oz baby boy! I was happy and relieved. It was finally over.

But while in the hospital, I looked at this gorgeous baby and wondered. I was wondering if I had made the right choice. Should I have had him? Should I be keeping him? Will he ever have a father? It did not help that they had a celebration dinner for TWO for those who give birth. I spent a lot of the time there crying.

Well, it has not been easy.

His father was hardly ever there. And when he was, he was abusive. We moved several times and my son had issues in school due to his ADHD. We both suffered emotionally due in part to my son’s father. But we got through it.

I might do some things differently if I could, but as for the questions I asked myself 24 years ago while holding my infant son at the hospital; I made the right decision to have him and to keep him.

Happy Birthday Phil!

Leave a Reply

